Committees

Advocacy

The Chamber's Advocacy Committee promotes policies conducive to a strong business climate; plans programs and briefings on public policy; updates and interprets the local and Legislative Agendas; and recommends policy positions to the Chamber Board of Directors.

The Committee also incorporates various "Task Forces" dedicated to researching and recommending positions on issues related to their particular area of focus.  These include: Education; Environment; Growth; Healthcare; Quality of Life; and Technology.

Committee meets the 2nd Wednesday of the month, 8:30am at the Chamber.

Committee Contacts

Staff: Cory Skeates, Chamber President cskeates@lakelandchamber.com 

Vice Chair: Will Link, Reed Mawhinney & Link, PLLC  will@polklawyer.com

Business Resource Center

This committee is responsible for advancing the strategy to create a new “Business Resource Center,” a shared facility that will foster a collaborative approach through partnerships with other area resource partners to help small businesses grow and succeed. The business community will have access to seminars and education on topics/issues that impact small businesses.  This committee will identify the site, recommend the design and then build/renovate the facility. They will also be responsible for completing a capital campaign to raise the resources necessary to cover the costs of this facility.

Subcommittees

Capital Campaign: TBA
Site Selection: Alice Hunt (Chair)
Programming: Cory Skeates (Co-Chair)  Cedric Joseph (Co-Chair)

Staff: Cory Skeates, Chamber President  cskeates@lakelandchamber.com
Darla Sechrest-Petteway, Chief Development Officer  dsechrest@lakelandchamber.com

Vice Chair: Gow Fields, Fields Insurance & Financial Group  gow@gowfields.com

Communications

This committee will partner with chamber marketing/communications staff to develop the most effective and strategic communications of timely, relevant information to members and the community at large.  Significant focus from this committee should be on ensuring that the chamber is connecting with and getting members engaged with chamber programs, events, and other initiatives.  Creating value and relevance in the minds of all investors is critical to the chamber’s success.

Staff: Tora Miller, Director of Communications  tmiller@lakelandchamber.com 
Vice Chair: Stacey Heacock Weeks   sheacock@heacock.com

Engagement

This committee will focus on the work of understanding what chamber investors and the business community want from their chamber and then work with chamber staff to ensure programs, events, and other initiatives are aligned with those needs.  The committee will assist in developing a plan to improve programming and event awareness with chamber investors.  This committee will also partner with chamber staff to assess value and ROI of initiatives and events and work with the Chief Development Officer to connect existing and new chamber investors with the new initiatives for 2019 and beyond.

Staff: Amber Aaron, Director of Programs & Events  aaaron@lakelandchamber.com

Sarah Breed, Director of Chamber Initiatives  sbreed@lakelandchamber.com

Darla Sechrest Pettaway, Chief Development Officer  dsechrest@lakelandchamber.com

Vice Chair: Jonathan Crain, Two Men And A Truck  Jonathan.Crain@twomen.com

Investor Development

This committee will focus on increasing revenue, working with staff to increase the number of new investors, reduce lost investors, and "step up" investors to increase revenue.  This committee should partner with Engagement Committee to develop a strategy to improve the engagement of our existing investors with the programs, events and other initiatives of the Chamber.  There is a tremendous opportunity to reduce lost investors due to their perception of not seeing the value of their investment.  This committee should also work with Chief Development Officer to develop new sources of revenue from new programs and initiatives that will create value for existing and new investors.

Subcommittees: Chamber Champions, Small Business Award

Staff: Jazz Lyons, Membership Consultant jlyons@lakelandchamber.com

Vice Chair: Derek Oxford, CPS Investment Advisors  derek@cpsinvest.com

Events

The Chamber has various event-related committees that provide our investors with the opportunity to get more involved in their business community.  Please contact the committee liaison for more information.

CarBQ Committee - Contact Stephanie Colon, Prime Meridian Bank  scolon@primemeridianbank.com

Hob Nob Committee - Contact Cory Skeates, Chamber President  cskeates@lakelandchamber.com

Swantoberfest - Contact Amber Aaron, Director of Marketing & Events aaaron@lakelandchamber.com