Skip to content

Committees

Advocacy

The Chamber's Advocacy Committee promotes policies conducive to a strong business climate; plans programs and briefings on public policy; updates and interprets the local and Legislative Agendas; and recommends policy positions to the Chamber Board of Directors.

Committee meets the 2nd Wednesday of the month, 8:30am at the Chamber.

Staff: Ryan Reis, Director of Public Affairs rreis@lakelandchamber.com

Vice Chair: Gow Fields, Fields Insurance & Financial Group gow@gowfields.com

Business Resource Center

This committee is responsible for advancing the strategy to create a new “Business Resource Center,” a shared facility that will foster a collaborative approach through partnerships with other area resource partners to help small businesses grow and succeed. The business community will have access to seminars and education on topics/issues that impact small businesses.  This committee will identify the site, recommend the design and then build the facility. They will also actively participate in the capital campaign to raise the resources necessary to cover the costs of this facility.

Staff: Darla Sechrest-Petteway, Chief Development Officer  dsechrest@lakelandchamber.com

Vice Chair: Stacey Heacock Weeks, Heacock Insurance  sheacock@heacock.com

Marketing & Communications

This committee will partner with chamber marketing/communications staff to develop the most effective and strategic communications of timely, relevant information to investors and the community at large.  Significant focus from this committee should be on ensuring that the chamber is connecting with and getting members engaged with chamber programs, events, and other initiatives.  Creating value and relevance in the minds of all investors is critical to the chamber’s success.

Staff: Monica Manjarres  mmanjarres@lakelandchamber.com

Vice Chair: Derek Oxford, CPS Investment Advisors  derek@cpsinvest.com

Investor Experience

This committee will focus on increasing revenue, working with staff to increase the number of new investors, reduce lost investors, and "step up" investors to increase revenue.  This committee should partner with Engagement Committee to develop a strategy to improve the engagement of our existing investors with the programs, events and other initiatives of the Chamber.  There is a tremendous opportunity to reduce lost investors due to their perception of not seeing the value of their investment.  This committee should also work with Chief Development Officer to develop new sources of revenue from new programs and initiatives that will create value for existing and new investors.

Subcommittees: Chamber Ambassadors, Small Business Award

Staff: Jazz Lyons, Membership Consultant  jlyons@lakelandchamber.com

Vice Chair: Amanda Walls, Peterson & Myers, P.A.  awalls@petersonmyers.com 

 

Events

The Chamber has various event-related committees that provide our investors with the opportunity to get more involved in their business community.  Please contact the committee liaison for more information.

ATHENA Awards Committee - Contact Sarah Breed, Chief Operating Officer  sbreed@lakelandchamber.com

CarBQ Committee - Contact Stephanie Colon, Prime Meridian Bank  scolon@primemeridianbank.com

Chamber Scramble - Contact Amber Aaron, Vice President of Investor Relations & Finance  aaaron@lakelandchamber.com

The Healthies Committee - Contact Sarah Breed, Chief Operating Officer  sbreed@lakelandchamber.com

Hob Nob Committee - Contact Ryan Reis, Director of Public Affairs  rreis@lakelandchamber.com

Lakeland Chamber Honors Committee - Contact Amber Aaron, Vice President of Investor Relations & Finance  aaaron@lakelandchamber.com

 

Scroll To Top